Vacation, meant to be spent alone

Okay, so I’m back from vacation now. How did that go? Well, I spend a week at home watching as much of the Summer Games Done Quick marathon as I could. Not that anyone asked. Really. I don’t think anyone at work noticed I was gone. Which is… good? Probably?

I remember Louis CK saying something about how if a person doesn’t have kids, then no one will care when they die. He seemed to think that is a bad thing. I disagree on both counts. For one thing, it’s possible for another person to be entirely dependent on you without them being your child. Second, if your death means disaster or heartbreak for someone else, I’m not sure that’s a good thing. I mean, I’m not into the whole “Yay! Someone will be sad when I’m not around!” thing.

So, I guess it’s good that nobody at work missed me. I won’t be here any more regardless, someday; why should I want that to make someone else sad?

On the other hand, this is work. People being okay with my not being around is probably bad.

Vacation, meant to be spent alone

2 thoughts on “Vacation, meant to be spent alone

  1. amy says:

    I’m not in the Louis CK camp on this one either: I think it’s very possible to have kids who look forward to dancing on one’s grave. (um, yeah, hypothetically speaking, uh, anyway-) and I see what you’re saying about work, not sure what to do about it, but it makes sense. And while you’ve made clear you’re not looking for this, and possibly don’t want it, if you died before me, and I found out about it, I would be sad. Just sayin.

    Like

    1. While I’m not glad that you (or anyone) will be sad when I go, I treat the prospect with great solemnity. In all honesty, I feel the same way about you as well and (rather selfishly) I hope you will outlive me. The fact that our ends will cause others pain is something I suppose we have to learn to accept (or completely ignore, since the middle ground here is knowing the truth, but being unable to effectively deal with it). Given that my intersectional identities mean that my existence inexorably makes other people’s lives more painful, I’ve had some practice on this score. Alive or dead I’m hurting someone somewhere, at least somewhat, intentionally or not, and it is a moral imperative to reduce the suffering I’m responsible for, alive or not. But, while I have some idea of how to approach the former, I am at a loss for any way to mitigate the latter. My only hope is that I’ve got a good long while to think about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

