I am a boring old guy now

So, I’ve been finding myself thinking a lot about guitars lately. As a result, I found myself wandering into a guitar shop the other day. I ended up buying a headphone amp so I can play my electric guitar without bothering anybody else.

The thing is, it’s been about eight years since I last picked up an instrument, and at this point in my life I’m pushing forty so… I guess I found out what my midlife crisis is going to be! It’s not a bad one as things like this go: I might end up wasting a lot of money, but at least I won’t be putting myself at risk for a motorcycle accident or something.

Eight years is kind of a long time, though. My left hand has gone completely stupid. I put it on the strings, and ten seconds in it was screaming at me, “I don’t know where the hell I am! What fret is this? What string is this?” Also, my soft touch is gone. When I want to fret a note, my fingers are all, “Okay, here? SMASH! Now over here? No problem, SMASH! That’s how you do this, right?” Well no, not really.

So… it’s back to scales again, *groan*. Scales are the most boringest shit in the world. Playing songs is fun, playing scales is not. But if you’ve got stupid hands that get lost all the time, the only way to fix that is to re-familiarize them with the territory. Yeah, you can play a bunch of songs trying to do that, but you’ll need to learn a bunch of them to cover the amount of ground you need to cover, and look, scales are just better for that, okay? You can learn one scale and play it practically anywhere on the neck, over and over until you can play it blindfolded in your sleep.

Well, that’s the plan anyway. We’ll see how it goes.

 

I am a boring old guy now

Leave a Reply

