“Rule me!”

I try to keep up with the news, but I have to admit that I haven’t been paying particular attention to the Republican primaries. For one thing, I’m not a Republican; for another, California’s primary is so late in the process as to be completely moot in any case. Still, the small amount of information that has trickled down to me paints an interesting picture of what it is that Republican primary-voters are looking for.

They seem to place a great deal of importance on the perceived “strength” of their candidates, to the point that they admire the trait even if they disagree with their stances. It smacks of a deep-seated desire to be ruled by an iron fist, and that feels weird to me. Are these people looking for a president, or a pimp?

“Rich people shouldn’t have to pay taxes!”

“Yes, daddy!”

Though maybe I understand what they’re after, a little. I’m sure that when conservatives look back on the past eight years they see an era in which they accomplished almost nothing (Obama: not impeached. Obamacare: still happening). While using strength as your single selection criteria might appear counter to one’s own interests, perhaps this stagnation has fostered a burning desire for someone, anyone, who can at least do something.

“Rule me!”

Leave a Reply

