What I want to be when I grow up

Hey, here’s a joke that life sometimes plays on you: You spend your whole childhood being asked what you want to do with your life, but you only really figure that out much later — when you are too old to do anything about it. Or at least, that’s what happened to me.

After falling down the YouTube hole of guitar-building videos, I think I would have liked to be a luthier. So do it! some would say. Yeah, except there are way more wannabe luthiers than there are people willing to pay serious money for custom built guitars. In fact, if you are already an experienced, established luthier you can make some cash teaching other people how to build guitars.

What’s so great about building an instrument? What’s great about building anything? Different people feel differently of course, but to me it’s about the joy of monotasking. Being allowed to focus on just one thing at a time, to pour all of your attention into it, this is not something that I get to do in my day-to-day life.

I guess I could build model kits or something, but the dream is to actually do something for a living that makes you happy, and it would be nice to have a job where I wasn’t being pulled in a million directions all the time.

What I want to be when I grow up

Leave a Reply

