Dude shortage

VICE: It’s Not Your Imagination, Single Women: There Literally Aren’t Enough Men Out There

As with most parts of American culture, women get the short end of the stick when it comes to dating and relationships. In this case, it is the dearth of college-educated men available for relationships to college-educated women. The theory (in the book that’s in the article) is that people don’t date outside their education level, and since fewer men are finishing college, that’s led to an imbalance.

Where I disagree with the author is the idea that educated women will begin to date working-class dudes because they’ll have to. I don’t think that’s a thing. Like many working-class men, I spent the first thirty years of my life without adequate health insurance, and it shows on my face and my teeth. While I have some coverage now, I have nowhere near enough to fix the longstanding cosmetic problems that being poor has caused me, and my situation is not unique. How do I put this politely? Um… there aren’t that many good-looking working-class dudes out there.

And that’s another thing. The author mentions that Silicon Valley has way more dudes than ladies, and most of those guys have been to college (or at least have money), but both he and the reporter agree that those are some pretty inadequate dudes. But only because they can’t hold up a conversation. No mention of the fact that many of these dudes are not fun to look at.

How do you write a whole article on dating and relationships and not mention looks at all? Some refuse to admit it, but looks are important. I mean, they’re not the only thing that matters, but they are the first thing that matters when meeting someone. Unless you only date people who wear paper bags with their religion printed on them over their heads.

Dude shortage

Leave a Reply

