Can I borrow a feeling?

While I am constantly aware of the fact that I am not special or interesting in any way, I am also continually reminded that I am different than most people. The most recent instances of this involve the universal love and obsession that people seem to be feeling for two newish media things: A musical called “Hamilton,” and a video game called “Undertale.”

It’s been interesting to watch, actually. At first, I found it difficult to put a name to all of the high-energy reactions people were having to those things, but it eventually hit me. It’s joy. People are feeling joy. It’s a whole new level of liking things that I have no direct experience with. I mean I like stuff, sure I do, but I don’t think I’ve ever liked anything half as much as people seem to like these things.They are enjoying these things.

Which is great! It’s certainly fun to watch! But that sounds a little voyeuristic, doesn’t it? It’s not like going to a Cirque du Soleil show; yes, you are watching and appreciating amazing feats (acrobatics on the one hand, the ability to really enjoy things on the other hand), but in the case of Cirque, they put out ads and asked to you watch them and be amazed. The people who aggressively like things on the Internet do not. Their purpose is to get you to like the thing that they like, too — not to serve as a figure of entertainment in and of themselves. Right?

I am assuming here that their liking of things is a genuine expression of how they feel, though I do acknowledge that perhaps a small part of it is performative. You guys. You guys. OMG you guys. So, I don’t know, I just feel weird is all. Ninety-nine percent of the time, if I’m feeling anything, it’s weird.

 

Can I borrow a feeling?

Leave a Reply

