Take good care

This conversation about self-care and depression is intense and moving, and I’m glad I read it. Amongst other things, it stakes out a defensive position against those who would portray the entire concept as capitalistic self-indulgence available only to the privileged. That said, it’s not like I see my own situation reflected in the discussion — which is a good thing, because it should still be possible to hear and feel compassion for others, even though you’re not looking at them like they’re a mirror or something.

For myself, I’m pretty sure that self-care is something I should not embrace, as I have the sneaking suspicion that all of my problems would just melt away if only I was a lot better about kicking my own ass.

Take good care

Leave a Reply

